Fall Blogging Plans?

Before I started this blog my writing routine was fixed. It was a schedule built up over several years that became as second nature to me as brushing my teeth. I am not a regimented conformist by any means. What I am is a creature of habit. Sometimes those habits, as much as I love them, get boring and the writing ends up suffering because of it.

Just in time, as it usually happens, along comes a new kid on the block and shakes me from my lethargic twilight sleep. This time it’s a blog created in the spring for all the musings on writing, appreciation and a few other things. Although very new I neglected it over the summer. Now this kid is demanding one new blog post per week to get up and running.

I take a look at the current schedule, it goes something like this:

Six hours per day, minimum on writing courses, reviews, reading and social media.

The first thing I do in the morning and with coffee in hand is review Twitter and the blog. It takes 15-20 minutes to respond to interactions and post a few inspiring quotations to start the day off right.

With several cups of coffee floating around my gut and brain, I spend 1-2 hours on poetry, essay and short story reviews.

Monday mornings are my favorite time of the week. I write a new short story draft which is better than coffee for getting the imagination in gear, and the heart pumping. Tuesday thru Friday I dedicate an hour to revising and editing the new piece.

The remainder of the time is dedicated to revising and editing my manuscript incessantly. Yes I know at some point I will have to let it go.

A few evenings per week there are a couple more free hours available. I use the time to catch up on anything I fell behind on.

That’s my exciting writing week in review.

Now back to the conundrum. I need to add a regular blog posting to my list of weekly activities. I’ve read enough to know a weekly post is important to readership. When people realize you have a set day and perhaps time to blog, they are more likely to remember and check in.

Where do I find the time for this new kid? I used the evenings to create the blog, short story and appreciation pages in the spring time. So why not use the evening time slot to write the new entry?

The only snafu here is;  I know myself and I can get lazy in the evening. What the heck, they say nothing ventured, nothing gained right?

It might be easier than I think. I’ll add the activity to the routine and allow it to grow into a habit. Habits are so much easier to maintain than new activities anyway.

How do you re arrange your schedule when something new comes up? Please leave a comment, would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Fall Blogging Plans?

  1. Jane Carroll

    Oh…I feel your conumdrum! For me my blog was a regular part of my routine and now I’ve added social media to the mix. Which was fine until I started back to work this fall. Now, I’m having a difficult time working everything in. There are only so many hours in the day…and I do enjoy sleeping and eating!

    I know we will estalish our new routines and habits. It will be interesting to see what they are. I normally do a daily blog…this morning it didn’t happen.

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Sleeping and eating I wish there was a pill for that!

      You blogged daily over the summer? that is awesome!

      I was reading Bertha’s Pom-Pom chapter think that says it all. Life is always throwing stuff at us, lots of noise. Sitting back making a list of accomplishments, even small ones, reminds us we are active and taking part in the world!

      You’ll find the time for everything that makes you happy because it is so important

      Reply
  2. Kelli Joan Bennett

    Once a week is so doable! Maybe set an initial goal of once a week for just one month. That’s all. Start there. See how it goes and if you hold yourself accountable. If yes, do another month. And then another. We can do anything for a month at a time! 🙂

    Best of luck with creating this new weekly blog writing habit. You can do it, Aries! 🙂

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Kelli, thanks so much for the positive advice and motivation. I know I can, anyone can, if it is what they really want. And hold themselves accountable, as you wrote. Thanks for all the positive inspiration you add to the days!

      Have a great weekend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

