The Spirit of Great Comedy

In grade five we were asked to do a school project on a famous performer. My partner and I chose Charlie Chaplin. According to the assignment parameters we did the research and came up with a list of Q&A’s for our interview.

Fully prepared we sat down in front of the class. My partner played the role of interviewer I, the interviewee  played Chaplin.

She asked me the first question. “Where were you born?”

“London, England.” I answered.

After that I took on the persona of Chaplin. The rest of the questions were answered with jokes and silliness. Did I get the facts straight, I don’t remember. What I do recall is the class, teachers and my partner laughing. My partner, who was caught completely off guard, laughed so hard she was wiping tears from her eyes.

It was a good sound, a  joyous sound and the sound of happiness!

I had no idea I planned to wing it and would probably have laughed too, if I wasn’t so busy flicking a fake cigar around and pretending to flirt with the girls.

There was a spirit of fun in that classroom all those years ago and I recall it all these years later. No I am  not going to say exactly how many years later!

With the interviews finished; my partner and I were called into the office to face the two teachers responsible for grading us.

The first teacher said, “You were supposed to answer questions about Mr. Chaplin’s life.”

Still high from the performance, my partner and I kept our heads down feigning remorse.

The second teacher who was still laughing, added, “you are going to lose marks for this.”

A week later we received the final mark, 24/25 or an A or 4.0.

I wondered about the lost mark? Maybe the laughter failed to reach the principles office, or maybe it did. Who knows…

My wish to those reading this today, is that you find time this weekend and always for fun and laughter.

Have a great weekend and if you have an awesome childhood memory… would love to hear them!

10 thoughts on “The Spirit of Great Comedy

  1. Jane Carroll

    Awww…I find this so troubling…that teachers…then and now…stiffle creativity which fosters real learning…you nailed Charlie Chaplin like no normal report could! I agree…let’s all have fun this weekend!

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Well they did take a chance and gave us a great mark in the end. The spirit in the experience is what I recall all these years later. He was a very funny many, and it is contagious (if we allow it). I hope you and everyone, had a fun time, I know the weekend was interesting here! Thanks for commenting and keeping up with the blog, much appreciated, Jane!

      Reply
  2. David Beeson (@DavidBeeson2)

    You remind me of a story I heard about one of those terrible French competitive exams (competitive in the sense that the pass mark depends on the number of candidates who can be accepted for a position or a place) and which set out deliberately to trip examinees.

    A geography paper contained the question ‘what is the depth of the Danube at Vienna?’

    The answer that received the highest mark was ‘Under which bridge?’

    The French like quick-wittedness, even above erudition.

    But in any case – 24/25 is a pretty good mark. i hope your weekend was worth at least as much.

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Ah, a witty and intelligent answer, even if we here in North America might consider it a smart ___ remark. Oops did I just underline that point again?! Thank you for joining us on the blog, and your witty comments! It was a decent mark, maybe the teachers had a little French in them…LOL

      Reply
      1. David Beeson (@DavidBeeson2)

        Just for the sake of accuracy, what you’ve actually underlined is a blank. Please don’t tell me that in North America the practice is to be emphatic in saying nothing. Because one might as well stay silent.

        Or perhaps it’s not so much a matter of emphatically saying nothing but of saying nothing with emphasis. That would sound like a quite British love of understatement.

        On second thoughts, not very North American at all.

    1. ariescottrell Post author

      I think you said it better than I wrote it in the post. That was exactly how it felt. Definitely something I want to recapture. Some memories never fade, and I am glad I remembered this one! Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  3. Brittany

    Your memory was very entertaining and I’m glad you shared. Creativity should be rewarded. I read recently that those who daydream actually test higher on creativity and don’t just ‘have their heads in the clouds.’

    My mother tells the story when I was in Kindergarten we had to color a duck. The teacher had colored an example and we were to color ours alike. The duck she colored was yellow. The duck I colored was green. The teacher was not happy and she said she had never seen a green duck. I was thinking of the mallards with the green neck that swim in the creek by my grandparents. I told her that I had never seen a yellow duck. She called my mother. I still believe I had a valid point.

    I hope my child’s creativity is never stifled by being forced to copy art in grade school.

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Thank you very much for sharing that. I had similar experiences during grade school, and I bet you and I are not alone. The hardest part was learning to swallow “the” rules of creativity that made no sense! I hope your child is able to express her own creativity too. You remember what if “felt” like when the teacher corrected you, and can help her with that!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

