The Secret of Bringing Stories to Life

This week I focused my writing studies on bringing a more realistic experience of story to the reader. To do this I considered the best way to evoke an emotional reaction based on word choice.

I turned to the modern and popular understanding of Law of Attraction for help. What I discovered is the rules of LOA can help elicit an emotional response from the reader quite effectively.

In the Law of Attraction it is understood that words carry vibration (energy). When a particular word is read and intellectually processed a vibration begins to resonate within the mind and releases energy that that triggers the corresponding emotion.

If that word is joined by other words with a similar energy the emotional response is intensified.

This rule can be applied to writing. If you want to evoke an emotion during a particular scene in the story, it is important to choose words that have a similar resonance to each other and give off a singular energy in order to produce a pure emotional experience, such as fear, happiness, grief, love etc.

In this way instead of sitting on the couch detached from the story the reader is transported to the experience and it becomes more than an intellectual exercise. Not only is the intellectual sense engaged in the process but the emotions as well.

When both mind and emotions are invested a richer and more vivid experience of story is created.

The simple rule here is choose words of similar resonance to create a harmonic flow of energy for the readers emotions to follow and watch your story come to life.

Do you feel creating an emotional experience for the reader is important? If yes how do you achieve it?

6 thoughts on “The Secret of Bringing Stories to Life

  1. David Beeson (@DavidBeeson2)

    I love this thinking – it’s a real insight and something I’ll think about when writing in the future. But, and I hope you don’t mind my saying so, I think the word ‘vibration’ is far too weak for the power of the idea. Certainly, the concept is well-founded on the idea of vibration – but this is a particular type of vibration.

    Some years ago there was a powerful illustration given of the power of vibration, a negative one perhaps, because it was destructive, but striking. A British architect designed and built a series of power station cooling towers and, because architects at base apply mathematical principles, he spaced them at rigorously equal intervals. One day, a high wind blew up from just the wrong direction and set up a series of vibrations between the towers; because the intervals were the same, the vibrations harmonised and therefore reinforced each other. Their force grew geometrically and then – suddenly – the whole string of towers shook themselves to pieces.

    The power came from the vibrations, certainly, but specifically from their harmony. That’s a particular type of vibration, a subset of vibrations generally. I think that a far better word than merely vibration in what you’ve described, so cogently and so succinctly, is harmonisation. The harmony sets them singing to the reader and to each other and therefore gives them greater power to move, to transport – just as you explain.

    But I’m not sure that even harmony would be my preferred term here. These are after all words we’re talking about, and among words there is a special type of harmony, or rather two: consonance and connotation. I think when you talk about a sequence like feather, soft, flight, you are talking about the particular harmony of connotation. To take your previous post, you might see the same between selfishness, egotism, self-centredness; or more positively, generosity, kindness, warmth.

    But when you’re talking flight and light, you add consonance too, and as you know – and often reproach me for – that’s something I particularly love. Flight, light, might, right, sight – I think one can build castles out of consonance. Sometimes I have the impression I slightly exasperate you when I go down a path opened by this kind of playing, but why not try it too? I think there are gems to be discovered in such play, treasure in the sounds of words and not just their meaning.

    I believe I quoted before that wonderful sentence of Abraham Lincoln’s:

    ‘The father of rivers again goes unvexed to the sea’

    The meaning – the Mississippi has been rid of rebel forces, the Confederacy has been split in two, the Union has taken a huge step towards victory – is important, indeed vital to everything Lincoln stood for. But the music of the line (as I mentioned it’s a pentameter) has a beauty all its own and by its harmony drives the message all the more powerfully home.

    So I think yours is a lovely post that provoked, in me at least, a whole stream of ideas, and for that I thank you. Now I know that the Law of Attraction is a relatively systematised way of thought and therefore has its own terms, and vibration is maybe the one you just have to use. But, if you’ll allow me the remark, I feel it has the wrong connotations. I don’t deny that there’s vibration at root here, but the specific kind that leads to harmony; and when it comes to words, such harmony takes the form of connotation, which is your theme, but also consonance, which I think you should also consider.

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      David, thank you for commenting and exasperate all you like. Your responses are thought provoking and since the entire post is on words and their corresponding energies, harmonization is as good a choice (if not better) than “vibration. In my thinking and based on your comment both vibrations, or energy and harmonization have a place in this post.

      Toward the beginning it is the idea that words are vibrational and give off energy the reader can pick up on in the form of emotion I suggest. Whereas toward the end of the post I am writing about joining words with similar vibrations (energies) to create the emotional effect produced when when are part of or witness something in real time. Here “harmonizing” the energies (words) into appropriate sentence structure makes logical sense.

      Let me take another look at it, and thanks again!

      Reply
  2. Michelle

    Very thought provoking post. While I am not a writer, I am an avid reader and take the most out of a story where I can fall into the the emotional plights of the characters. And for me that is only achieved from word choice, and the intellectual and emotional connection that the author creates to capture their potential audience. Keep the great posts coming! 🙂

    Reply
    1. ariescottrell Post author

      Michelle, thank you for stopping by and commenting. Hurray for readers! What the heck would writer’s do without them 🙂 I write these posts as much for others as I do to test what I have learned on a subject. And the feed back, oh your coveted feedback as a reader, has made me smile today! It confirms I am on the right track to the readers mind and heart! Thank you again for stopping by, this has made my weekend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

