Cycling in the Snow

What a ride.

This morning there was a light dusting of snow on the ground and the temperature had dipped below zero. It was time for my bike ride and I started to freeze up thinking about the risk the snow might pose.

For those of you who followed my previous posts you might remember the post re: getting back on the bike after years of not riding. No I won’t say how many years!

If you missed that post it can be read here: https://ariescottrell.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/bikes-writing-fans-congratulations-2/

Anyway one of the reasons I started cycling again is the desire to do new and fresh things. Tired of the same old, I wanted to dust the cobwebs away from my life. Well riding in cold weather and with snow on the ground was definitely something new to me.

When I looked out the window and saw the white fluffy stuff I felt a ton of anxiety. Phrases like, “it’s too cold” and “it might be slippery” started  playing through my mind to a chorus of ridiculous catastrophic scenario’s. Don’t get me wrong these are great cautionary points if they cause you to be sensible and don’t keep you from doing what you love.

I knew I had to silence the choir before I could consider a ride, or I would be too nervous and the trip definitely would become a dangerous ride.

So how did I overcome the negative self talk and improve my mood before riding? The answer is simple. I used a little soft and positive self talk to ease the hard and negative. l told myself things like, “no harm in trying” and “I can always turn back if needed.” There are no do or die scenario’s in my world, only fun and enjoyment.

After dressing appropriately, away I went. During the ride I realized this is much the same as anything new we want to try. Sure you feel nervous and the inevitable, “you can’t because ____ arguments arise. However, you can push through it easily with gentle and uplifting self talk. There are always options and safe ways to accomplish our desires and goals when they are positive and in our best interest.

This very gentle approach to success works for me. Now I’m curious, how do you override the negative thoughts and just do it!

Leave a Reply

