Debtless & Cheap – Bon Appetit

In keeping with the cheapskate/frugal blog stream I want to share our experience at the grocery store yesterday.

My goal for this week was to cut our grocery spending in half. So you can probably imagine that I was a little disheartened yesterday after the groceries were tallied up and not only wasn’t I anywhere near my goal I actually went $10’s over the usual amount I spend.

In the car on the way home I racked my brain trying to figure out how I was going to make this goal happen. The items I purchased, I reminded myself, are necessary staples, vegies, meats, grains, fruits, milk products. There is no way I can cut back on these items. Not only are these essential necessities for my husband and myself, I have kids coming and going from my home who need healthy and nutritious snacks as well.

As I put the groceries away I reviewed the items. My most expensive purchases are the meats. I buy the larger trays with 6-10 pieces because the smaller ones with 2 pieces are more expensive.

So, the good news is for two people a tray of 6 pork chops can actually create 3 meals depending on the recipe. Same is true of steak, chicken etc.

Maybe I can’t cut down on the amount I spend weekly, however, I can spread the food out over a few meals and realize some savings monthly.

I think more conscientious attention paid to meal time will net the savings I’m seeking on the grocery bill. Maybe this one is not so much about cutting back. Using food wisely in nutritious ways may be the order of the day.

Tonight for dinner I used two pieces of a 3 piece steak tray. The steaks were on sale and a great price. I cooked two of them in a large frying pan with a lid. Threw in some tomatoes, onion, carrots, potatoes, seasoning and created a simple one pot dinner in 30 minutes.

The third steak I put away for a stir fry later in the week. Pretty good way to stretch $10’s worth of meat I think.

Maybe we’ll go into more delicious meals on the cheap in the next post. I have raised kids on a tight budget and have a million.

For tonight debt less and cheap will be eating well and we hope you are too.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

